The Vintners Company – Vintners Hall

The Vintners' Davies Langton Award


Aimed at furthering wine education, this award was restructured in 2015 to subsidise up to three young members of the wine trade to undertake work experience which they would otherwise be unable to afford.

About the Award

The purpose of the award now is to assist up to three young members of the wine trade to travel overseas or within the UK to gain work experience which they would otherwise be unable to afford. 

Applicants should ideally be under the age of 35. 

Applicants should be actively employed in the wine trade, whether that be in sales, marketing, research, production or another capacity, but not necessarily required to commit to a long term career in the trade. 

Each of the three winners will be eligible for a grant of £1,000.  As the total award is for up to £3,000 then if only one or two winners are selected in a particular year, the £3,000 may be divided between the total number of winners for that year. The award is to be used to assist in covering travel, accommodation and living expenses for a period of up to two months during the year in which the award is made.  Winners will be required to provide a short report on their work experience after the event for possible publication on the Vintners’ Company’s website or other form of company media.

How to Apply

Applicants are required to provide a brief CV and brief statement (of no more than 500-600 words) outlining how they would use the award and the nature of the intended work experience.  

Application Form

  • Applications for this award may only be submitted using the form below. 
  • The uploaded attachments must be in Microsoft Word or PDF format.

Please Note: Once you have submitted this form, the page will refresh so PLEASE SCROLL back down to this section to ensure you see the confirmation message.   If there is an error message, it will be because you have not completed all required elements of the form.  Please correct and click on submit again.

Entry for this award is now closed for this year.